Greetings from the new AmeriCorps!

 

_dsc0133

Hello everyone! My name is Jessie Case and I will be the AmeriCorps Volunteer Infrastructure Project (VIP) Fellow for the 2016-2017 year. I cannot wait to get started promoting community service throughout San Diego County and supporting the volunteers here at HandsOn San Diego.

I am a San Diego native and am lucky enough to have most of my extended family nearby. Growing up with parents in the military and law enforcement, I have always viewed service as a necessary aspect of everyday life. In high school I immersed myself in the Interact community service club and have not been able to turn back since. In Interact we cleaned up litter at Lake Murray in La Mesa, picked oranges and lemons for Harvest CROPS, and assisted with fundraisers hosted by the La Mesa Rotary Club for local nonprofits.

My time at the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC) took my passion for service to new heights through my involvement with the Rotaract Club of Santa Cruz County. While serving as the club’s Co-President for two years, our organization began to participate in service events almost every weekend, sometimes even multiple events each weekend. I accumulated hundreds of service hours and connected with people all over Santa Cruz County while beautifying the Monterey Bay Horsemanship Therapeutic Center facilities, building homes with Habitat for Humanity, staffing games for children at the Omega Nu Ducky Derby, serving as an advocate at the Watsonville Project Homeless Connect, and volunteering with many other amazing organizations.

During my last year at UCSC, I served as an adviser and Membership Chair for the Rotaract club and the Director of Membership for Rotaract District 5170, while finishing my degrees in Art (photography) and History of Art and Visual Culture. Even in my photography projects, my passion for the nonprofit sector shows through. In March, I featured my senior show at the Homeless Garden Project (HGP) store where I displayed portraits of their volunteers with excerpts of interviews I conducted asking why they give their time and skills to HGP.

In my free time I enjoy taking and editing photos, working toward my third degree black belt in Tang Soo Do (similar to karate), researching my family tree, participating in the Pacific Beach Rotaract Club, and playing with my two dogs. I am looking forward to spending my time training project leaders, working alongside the dedicated volunteers of HandsOn at projects, and making the volunteer experience as enjoyable as possible.

-Jessie Case

Leave a Reply

